Jack H. Sanders Memorial Scholarship

This $1,000 scholarship award is named in honor of Jack H. Sanders, the first president of PRAL and a visionary in the profession of public relations. It is awarded annually to a Louisiana college junior, senior or graduate student who has demonstrated proficiency, excellence, and dedication to pursuing a public relations or journalism career.


  • Must be a full-time junior, senior or graduate student majoring in public relations or journalism, or working toward a degree with emphasis in public relations.
  • Must be enrolled in a college located in Louisiana.
  • Must be a junior in the 2018-19 school year.
  • The 2019 application deadline is February 20, 2019.

Apply Now

Prior Recipients of the Jack H. Sanders Memorial Award

2018  Amie Martinez, Louisiana State University
2017  Morgan Yates, Xavier University
2016  Bianca Stakes, LSU-Shreveport
2015  Jolena Broussard, Louisiana State University
2014  Jolena Broussard, Louisiana State University
2013  Mallory Richardson, Louisiana State University
2012  Jessica Estorino, Louisiana State University
2011  Tess Williams, Dillard University
2010  Kelly Glymph, Louisiana State University
2009  Luke J. Coussan, Jr., Louisiana State University
2008  Megan Broussard, University of Louisiana Lafayette
2007  Elliot Anthony Hutchinson, Louisiana State University
2006  Nicole O'Malley, Louisiana State University
2005  Katie Spears, Louisiana State University
2004  Fleur Ferrara, Louisiana State University
2003  Jacob Landry,  Louisiana State University
2002  Elizabeth Barrow Tadie, Louisiana State University
2001  Charlotte Hornstein, Louisiana State University
2000  Denise Belleville, Loyola University
1999  Katherine Bourgeois, Louisiana State University
1998  Cory E. Melancon, Nicholls State University
1997  Valerie G. Keller, University of Southwest Louisiana
1996  Cathy Caldiera, Loyola University
1995  Gretchen Hirschey, Louisiana State University
1994  Amy Hipp, Louisiana State University
1993  Timothy P. Ardillo, Northeast Louisiana University
1992  R. LeeAnne Bamburg, Northeast Louisiana University
1991  Susan McCann, Louisiana College
1990  Dana A. Lopez, Nicholls State University
1989  Allison Harvey, Tulane University
1988  Elisa L. Knapp, Louisiana Tech University
1987  Carlen Elise Pool, Louisiana State University
1986  Jennifer Lea Bearden, Northeast Louisiana University
1985  Patricia Stevens, Northeast Louisiana University
1984  Michelle Thionville, Loyola University
1983  Sibley Jefferson, Northeast Louisiana University